After a long Michigan winter, motorcycle enthusiasts are ready to enjoy the longer days and warmer temperatures ahead. Most bikers know that motorcyclists over 21 are no longer required to wear helmets under certain conditions. However, many people still have questions about current Michigan motorcycle law, particularly motorcycle helmet law.
To help bikers ride safely and legally, here is an up-to-date guide to motorcycle helmet law in Michigan.Do You Have a Case?
Motorcyclists have the right to choose whether to wear a helmet, providing certain conditions are met.
In order to ride without a helmet, a motorcycle operator must:
Motorcycle passengers who wish to ride without a helmet must:
Motorcycle operators and passengers under 21 years old must wear a helmet.
In addition, individuals younger than 19 must wear a helmet if operating a moped on a public roadway.
All helmets worn by Michigan motorcyclists of any age must comply with U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) standards.
Unlike helmet use, motorcyclists do not have a choice about eye protection. To operate a motorcycle on a public highway at 35 mph or faster, motorcyclists must comply with at least one of these regulations:
Even with a windshield, safety experts recommend additional protection, such as helmets with full-face coverage and energy-absorbing liners.
Despite the choice provided by Michigan’s motorcycle helmet law, helmets are still recommended. Here are a few reasons why riders and passengers will be safer and more comfortable when they wear helmets.
Motorcycle accident law is complicated, but finding the right attorney is simple.
Get the Bernstein Biker Advantage.
Call 1-800-CALL-SAM today for a free no-obligation consultation.Do You Have a Case?
Get The Bernstein Advantage® today!
Free. Simple. Quick.