Michigan Fireworks Law: What You Need to Know Before the 4th of July
June 24, 2019
With 4th of July just around the corner, it’s time to learn about Michigan fireworks law. Effective this year, private citizens may only use fireworks during certain hours on a limited number of days. In addition, local governments can now regulate the use of fireworks in their communities to a greater degree. Here’s what you need to know about Michigan fireworks law for a safe and lawful holiday celebration.
What Are the Days and Times Fireworks Are Allowed?
Fireworks are allowed statewide on the following days:
- New Year’s Eve through New Year’s Day at 1 a.m.
- Saturday and Sunday immediately before Memorial Day until 11:45 p.m. each day
- Saturdays and Sundays from June 29th through July 4th until 11:45 p.m. each day, including July 5 if it falls on a Saturday or Sunday
- Saturday and Sunday immediately before Labor Day, until 11:45 p.m. each day
However, officials from state and local governments and fire departments can prohibit fireworks at any time because of hazardous weather conditions.
What Items Are Allowed Under the New Michigan Fireworks Laws?
Citizens can use the following types of fireworks as long as they comply with the specified days and times.
- Roman candles
- Bottle rockets
- Missile type rockets
- Reloadable shell devices
- Helicopter/aerial spinners
- Single tube device with report
- Ground sparkling devices
- Ground-based or handheld sparklers
- Smoke devices
- Public fireworks shows organized by professionals
Additional Facts About Michigan Fireworks Law
- Fireworks are not allowed on public property such as schools, churches or government sites.
- It’s against the law to use fireworks on another person’s property without their permission.
- Minors (under 18) are not allowed to purchase fireworks.
- It is illegal for anyone to use fireworks while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.
- Local governments such as cities, townships and other municipalities may establish additional ordinances. Check the website of your local municipality for details.
What is the Penalty for Violating Local Fireworks Laws?
Those who violate an ordinance created by a local community will be fined $500 to $1,000, depending on the offense. Fireworks sellers who violate laws are subject to higher fines.
Use Fireworks Safely
Although fireworks are legal, they are classified as hazardous substances under the Federal Hazardous Substances Act (FHSA). Every summer, thousands of people are taken to the emergency room for fireworks-related injuries. Therefore, it’s important to use fireworks safely. This includes sparklers, which can get hot enough to melt metal.
Here a few basic safety tips for using fireworks and sparklers:
- Never allow young children to play with or ignite fireworks.
- Have an adult supervise all fireworks activities.
- Never lean over a fireworks device when you light the fuse.
- Never point or throw fireworks at another person.
- Keep a hose or bucket of water nearby when using fireworks in case of an emergency.
- Douse used fireworks with plenty of water before discarding.
Michigan fireworks law is complicated, but finding the right lawyer is simple.
Call 1-800-CALL-SAM today for a free, no-obligation consultation.